Tuesday 11 September 2018, 08:00

The history of the FIFA eWorld Cup

  • From the original FIWC in 2004 to the FIFA eWorld Cup 2018

  • FIFA.com gives an overview of all the Grand Finals

  • Featuring records, facts, figures and more!

2018 witnessed the FIFA eWorld Cup played under a new name for the first time, but over the past decade and a half, the world's leading FIFA players battled for global glory when the tournament was known as the FIFA Interactive World Cup. FIFA.com looks back at the history of the eSports competition.

Beginnings The first version of the competition was held in 2004 in Zurich, Switzerland, with Brazil’s Thiago Carrico de Azevedo taking the title. In 2005 and 2006, the trophies went to representatives of the host nation: in 2005, England’s Chris Bullard won the event in London, while Andries Smit of the Netherlands emerged victorious a year later in Amsterdam.

The tournament then had a hiatus before Alfonso Ramos claimed his first title in 2008 in Berlin, ushering in a period of dominance where he qualified for the Grand Final every year through to 2013.

The following year also saw the beginning of an era, with France’s Bruce Grannec winning the first of his two trophies in 2009 in Barcelona. The city also hosted the Grand Final the following year, with Nenad Stojkovic being crowned the 2010 champion.

In 2011, Francisco Cruz became the first Portuguese player to win the competition at the first ever Grand Final to be held outside Europe, in Los Angeles. Ramos wrestled the title back in 2012 (in Dubai) followed by Grannec in 2013 (in Madrid) – two repeat winners in a row. 2014 saw the Grand Final of the FIFA Interactive World Cup held in Brazil, when August Rosenmeier became the first Dane to lift the trophy.

The tournament went back to Germany in 2015 – Munich to be precise ­– for the Grand Final of the FIWC 2015. Abdulaziz Alsheri won the first ever title for a Saudi Arabian.

The trophy then went back to Denmark courtesy of Mohamad Al-Bacha, who tasted global glory in New York in 2016. He was also the first ever winner of the tournament in mixed console format.

The 2017 and 2018 Grand Finals were held in London. In 2017, England's Spencer Ealing defeated Germany’s Kai Wollin in the final.

Mosaad Aldossary then won a second trophy for Saudi Arabia in the first edition of the FIFA eWorld Cup in 2018. This tournament set new standards with over 20 million players and prize money for the winner of USD $250,000. It was held in London's iconic O2 arena and followed by more than 29 million online viewers.

Facts and figures: (as of September 2018)

Most trophies (players)

  • Alfonso Ramos – 2 trophies

  • Bruce Grannec – 2 trophies

Most trophies (countries)

  • England – 2 x 1st place, 2 x 2nd place

  • France – 2 x 1st place, 2 x 2nd place

Winners who conceded no goals in the Final Showdown:

  • Alfonso Ramos (2012)

  • Bruce Grannec (2013)

  • Abdulaziz Alsheri (2015)

  • Mosaad Aldossary (2018)

Most frequent host venue:

  • London (2005, 2017 and 2018)

Most participants:

  • Over 20 million players in 2018

Highest prize money for the winner:

  • 250,000 USD in 2018

Most online viewers

  • Over 29 million online viewers in 2018