Monday 06 May 2019, 08:43

The Best 2019 set to light up Milan

  • The Best heads to Italy for the first time

  • Two new awards set to be handed out in Milan

  • Historic Teatro alla Scala will host football’s biggest names

Having seen the last two editions dazzle among the glitz and glamour of London, football’s biggest names will be descending on the style-soaked streets of Milan for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019.

Home to legendary clubs AC Milan and Internazionale, while having played host during two FIFA World Cups™, few places stand above the northern Italian city when it comes to footballing heritage. And with the awards taking up residence in the world-famous Teatro alla Scalla, the 200-year-old opera house will only add to the prestige of the ceremony in one of European football’s most storied destinations.

It is apt, then, that on 23 September it will be where two new chapters in The Best FIFA Football Awards begin.

New honours

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

  • FIFA FIFPro Women’s World XI

Having introduced the men’s award in 2017, with Gianluigi Buffon and Thibaut Courtois both honoured to date, the custodians of the women’s game will now too be getting their moment in the spotlight thanks to The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper award. With the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™ set to showcase the pinnacle of women’s football, there’s every chance it will play a major role in deciding the final three hopeful shot-stoppers.

That will almost certainly be the case for the names who make up the FIFA FIFPro Women’s World XI, too. While their stars have been shining all year round, after almost half of the men’s XI were made up of players who excelled at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™. France 2019 seems destined to play a role in the choices of the professional players voting for their perfect line-up this year. All in all that means there will be 11 award categories on the bill in Milan.

Your part to play

One thing that makes The Best special is how it incorporates the views of four pillars of the footballing world: players, coaches, media and the fans. The latter is of course where you get involved.

No fewer than six awards will need your input, with the fans’ playing a part in helping select the winner of:

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

  • FIFA Puskas Award

  • FIFA Fan Award

So, keep your eyes locked on, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube over the coming months to be sure you play your role in deciding football’s Best once the shortlists are announced.