Monday 06 May 2019, 13:14

The Best FIFA Football Awards™ to introduce two new women’s football honours

  • The Best FIFA Football Awards add two more honours for 2019

  • Both will recognise excellence in women's football

  • This year's ceremony to be held in Milan on 23 September

When world football’s top performers convene in Milan on 23 September for The Best FIFA Football Awards, there will be two brand-new accolades up for grabs: The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper will be honoured, as will the members of the FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11.

“FIFA is certain that France will host a groundbreaking edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup this year, so I cannot think of a better moment to introduce these new awards. It is yet another step in the right direction to raise the profile of women’s football,” said Zvonimir Boban, FIFA’s Deputy Secretary General (Football).

The coronation of The Best of the season will be held at Milan’s historic Teatro alla Scala, where the football world will get to know the winners in 11 categories in total:

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper*

  • FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11

  • FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11*

  • The FIFA Puskás Award

  • The FIFA Fair Play Award

  • The FIFA Fan Award

*Awarded for the first time

More details about the voting procedure for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 − including key release dates and the rules of allocation for each award − will be made available over the course of the upcoming weeks, as will information about media accreditation.

To keep up with the latest news about The Best, check our Facebook page.

You can join the discussion about who should win this year’s prizes by using the hashtag #TheBest.