Tuesday 14 December 2021, 20:00

The 23 most voted players for the 2021 FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11

FIFPRO and FIFA proudly announce the 23 players who received the most votes for the 2021 FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11, the only global player award organised by the players and for the players.

FIFPRO and FIFA asked professional footballers worldwide to vote for the World 11. We requested them to pick the three players who in their opinion were the most outstanding players during the 2020/2021 season in the following lines: goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders and forwards. 

For the first time, FIFPRO is updating the announcement about the most-voted players, reducing the shortlist from 55 to 23. This has been done to resemble a real-life “squad” which, usually for international competitions, is the number of players involved.

The three goalkeepers, six defenders, six midfielders and six forwards with the most votes earned a place in the 23-women World 11 “squad”. To complete this elite selection, the two remaining outfield players with the most votes were added.

The 23 players in the World 11 squad are: In alphabetical order:

Goalkeepers: Laura Benkarth (Germany/FC Bayern München) Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany/Chelsea FC Women) Christiane Endler (Chile/Paris Saint-Germain/Olympique Lyonnais) Defenders: Millie Bright (England/Chelsea FC Women) Lucy Bronze (England/Manchester City WFC) Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada/Olympique Lyonnais) Ellie Carpenter (Australia/Olympique Lyonnais) Magdalena Eriksson (Sweden/Chelsea FC Women) Irene Paredes (Spain/FC Barcelona) Wendie Renard (France/Olympique Lyonnais) Midfielders: Estefania Banini (Argentina/Levante UD/Atlético de Madrid Femenino) Barbara Bonansea (Italy/Juventus FC Women) Aitana Bonmati (Spain/FC Barcelona) Delphine Cascarino (France/Olympique Lyonnais) Carli Lloyd (USA/NJ/NY Gotham FC) Alexia Putellas (Spain/FC Barcelona) Forwards: Pernille Harder (Denmark/Chelsea FC Women) Samantha Kerr (Australia/Chelsea FC Women) Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride) Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal WFC) Alex Morgan (USA/Tottenham Hotspur FC Women/Orlando Pride, San Diego Wave) Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon/CSKA) Megan Rapinoe (USA/OL Reign)

Which of the 23 players will make the World 11?

The goalkeeper, three defenders, three midfielders and three forwards who received the most votes in their position will be selected for the World 11. The remaining spot in the World 11 will be assigned to the remaining outfield player with the next highest number of votes.

FIFA and FIFPRO will announce the 2021 Women’s World 11 on Monday 17 January 2022 during the ceremony of The Best FIFA Football Awards.

Content on social media about the World 11 can be found with the following: http://www.twitter.com/FIFPRO http://www.instagram.com/FIFPRO http://www.facebook.com/FIFPRO Official Hashtag: #World11 Facts and figures:

  • This is the first time that FIFA and FIFPRO present a 23-player World 11 squad.

  • This is the sixth edition of the World 11. FIFPRO created this vote for women players only in 2015.

  • FIFPRO and FIFA started their Women’s World 11 cooperation in 2019.

  • FIFPRO received 3,645 votes from players in 50 countries.

  • The World 11 squad includes 13 players who already have won a World 11 award: Bonansea, Bright, Bronze, Buchanan, Cascarino, Endler, Harder, Lloyd, Marta, Miedema, Morgan, Rapinoe and Renard.

  • Renard holds the record for most appearances in the World 11: she has been on all five pre-vious teams.

  • Three players make their first appearance on a shortlist: Banini, Bonmati and Onguene.

  • Spain and the United States are the countries with most players in the World 11 squad: each have three players (Bonmati, Paredes and Putellas, and Lloyd, Morgan and Rapinoe respectively).

  • Chelsea is the club with most selected players: five (Berger, Bright, Eriksson, Harder and Kerr).

  • Banini is the first player from Argentina on the shortlist.

  • Onguene is only the second African player to appear on a shortlist. The first one was Tabitha Chawinga in 2020.

  • Two players from last year’s World 11 did not receive enough votes for a spot in the squad: Veronica Boquete and Tobin Heath.

  • Last year’s World 11 consisted of Endler, Bright, Bronze, Renard, Bonansea, Boquete, Casca-rino, Harder, Heath, Miedema and Rapinoe.