Thursday 01 March 2018, 15:51

Draw lines up drama at Copa America Femenina

  • Hosts Chile paired with Colombia in five-team Group A

  • Reigning champions Brazil and 2006 winners Argentina in Group B

  • The top two sides will earn automatic spots at France 2019

The draw for the Copa America Femenina 2018 has laid out the path for South America's ten sides, who are desperate for a place at the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019, as well as presenting the challenges that await in the hunt for continental glory.

Now on its eighth edition, current holders Brazil will be looking to win their seventh, and third-successive title, when the tournament heads to Chile between 4 and 22 April. Only Argentina, back in 2006, have interrupted As Canarinhas' total dominance of the tournament, which was first held in 1991.

Two automatic tickets to France are on offer, as well as a spot in the CONMBEOL-CONCACAF play-off for the eventual third-placed side. Colombia and Ecuador joined the 2014 champions at Canada 2015. Hosts Chile have been paired with the Colombians, while Brazil, who are currently ranked eighth in the FIFA/Coca-Cola Women's World Ranking, have both Ecuador and Argentina in Group B.

Group A 1. Chile 2. Colombia 3. Paraguay 4. Uruguay 5. Peru

Group B 1. Brazil 2. Ecuador 3. Argentina 4. Venezuela 5. Bolivia

The top two from each group will enter the final stage, where the standings will be decided in a four-team group. Also acting as qualification for the Women's Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020, the champions will clinch the only automatic berth on offer. The runners-up must face the second-placed side from Africa's Olympic qualifying tournament.

Set to be held across three venues in Chile - Coquimbo, La Serena, and Ovalle - the draw also saw the tournament logo and mascot revealed.