Sunday 07 July 2019, 17:12

adidas Golden Ball Award

The adidas Golden Ball was won by USA's Megan Rapinoe, as the competition’s best player. Members of the FIFA Technical Study Group determined the winner at the conclusion of the Final. Lucy Bronze (England) and Rose Lavelle (USA) finished second and third to receive the adidas Silver Ball and adidas Bronze Ball, respectively.

Presented to the outstanding player at each FIFA Women’s World Cup™ since 1991, the adidas Golden Ball award has always highlighted truly exceptional players. The full list of winners:

  • 1991: Carin JENNINGS (USA)

  • 1995: Hege RIISE (NOR)

  • 1999: Sun WEN (CHN)

  • 2003: Birgit PRINZ (GER)

  • 2007: MARTA (BRA)

  • 2011: Homare SAWA (JPN)

  • 2015: Carli LLOYD (USA)

  • 2019: Megan RAPINOE (USA)