Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Tuesday 19 September 2017, 15:15

Official Slogan and Emblem of FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019 launched today

The Musee de l’Homme, located on Paris’ famous Place du Trocadero, hosted the launch of the Official Emblem and Slogan of the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™ today. FIFA President Gianni Infantino and French Football Federation (FFF) and Local Organising Committee (LOC) President Noel le Graet were joined by the current French women’s national football squad at the official unveiling event.

France is often considered as being synonymous with history and style, elements echoed in the emblem which features the competition trophy wrapped in historic marinière stripes, worn by French sailors in the past and the fashion conscious today. At the top of the trophy is a stylised football surrounded by eight decorative shards of light to symbolise the eighth edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Light, and the idea of illumination are themes key to identity of the tournament and are captured with the official slogan, DARE TO SHINE™. The phrase reflects the changing nature of football and the evolution of the women’s competition, which will have its time to shine all over France in 2019.

Speaking at the launch event the FIFA President said: “Women’s football has entered a bright new era and we are very much looking forward to seeing a sensational FIFA Women’s World Cup take place in France in 2019. The Official Slogan and Official Emblem of the competition are a perfect mix of history, style and innovation, which France is famous for, and I am certain that the commitment and dedication of the LOC and host cities around the country will make this tournament unique.”

The FFF President added: “In less than two years’ time, France will, for the first time in its history, host the FIFA Women’s World Cup. We are proud and honoured to be doing so, as it reflects our firm commitment to nurture women’s football and its development, a goal that the French Football Association has been pursuing through the National Plan for the Promotion of Women’s Football, which it launched six years ago.

"This, the eighth FIFA Women’s World Cup, will be a landmark occasion. Its success as a sporting event that captures the public imagination hinges on support from a number of stakeholders: our cities, regions, leagues, districts, amateur clubs and professional clubs and the people of France. The next FIFA Women’s World Cup will provide a springboard for France’s women’s team. Our Bleues must Dare to Shine, which I am sure they will. Make no mistake; we will be doing all we can.”

The FIFA Women’s World Cup will set the stage for the world’s best players to compete in world-class venues across France in Grenoble, Le Havre, Lyon, Montpellier, Nice, Paris, Reims, Rennes and Valenciennes. The competition will take place from 7 June to 7 July 2019.

· Opening match at Paris, 7 June

· Round of 16 matches 22-25 June

· Quarter final matches 27-29 June

· Semi-final matches Lyon, 2-3 July

· Match for the 3rd and 4th places, 6 July

· Final match Lyon, 7 July

Further information on the Official Slogan, DARE TO SHINE, and the Official Emblem can be found here. A video news release (VNR) with footage from today’s launch is available for editorial purposes here.