Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Thursday 12 May 2022, 23:00

Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau to host the Draw for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ in October

  •  Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau to host draw and opening match

  • Teams will find out on 22 October 2022 where and who they will be playing 

  • Excitement builds as qualifiers underway around the world

FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura and New Zealand Deputy Prime Minister Grant Robertson have today announced that Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau will host the Draw for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ on Saturday, 22 October 2022.

Taking place in Aotea Centre, the Draw will reveal the match fixtures for the 32 teams competing in the ninth edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand in just over a year. 

The globally televised draw show will include cultural performances and insights into the five Australian and four New Zealand Host Cities that will welcome teams and football fans, as well as many surprises.

FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura stated: “Preparations are well underway in Australia and New Zealand to welcome the world’s largest women’s single-sport event. The official draw in October marks an important milestone for teams and fans in the countdown to the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023. 

“We are excited about the influence and potential of this tournament to inspire and encourage more girls and women to get involved in football and we look forward to the draw setting the stage for the FIFA Women’s World Cup to reach Beyond Greatness.”

Speaking at today’s announcement in Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau, which was also attended by Johanna Wood (NZ Football President, OFC Executive Committee Member and FIFA Council Member) together with players and representatives, Minister Robertson – who is also the tournament’s lead minister – said it would be a real privilege to have the Draw for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 in Aotearoa.

“Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau will not only host the tournament’s opening ceremony and opening match featuring the Football Ferns on 20 July 2023 but will now also host the draw. 

“The draw is internationally significant. It provides an opportunity for New Zealand and Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau to showcase our culture and traditions to a global audience.

“Today’s announcement also starts to create excitement as the draw reveals which teams we’ll be hosting in New Zealand.”

An exciting few months of qualifiers lie ahead for fans before the draw takes place. Teams from across Africa, Central and North America, South America and Oceania will secure qualification berths for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 through several confederation tournaments taking place from July to October. 

Ten teams will also compete for the final three slots at the Play-Off Tournament for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 next year.

To stay up to date with the latest news regarding FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 tickets, please register here.

About the Draw for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 

  • At the draw, the 32 teams are allocated to eight groups, which will determine the country they will be based in for their group stage matches.

  • The draw will feature:

    • Around 800 attendees including senior FIFA and confederation officials, international media, broadcast networks, representatives from the 32 teams, and Commercial Affiliates.

    •  A globally televised draw show which is typically an hour long. In addition to the actual draw, other televised elements include cultural performances and footage of both Australia and New Zealand as well as the Host Cities that can also activate at the draw event.

    • Approximately 120 team representatives who will stay on and visit training sites and accommodation across Australia and New Zealand.

About the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 

  • The FIFA Women’s World Cup is the largest women’s single-sport event in the world. It has the potential to generate significant social and economic benefits and leave a lasting legacy for the development of women’s football in both New Zealand and Australia. 

  • Thirty-two teams will compete in the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 – up from 24 in France in 2019.

  • Nine teams (China PR, Japan, Korea Republic, Philippines and Vietnam from Asia, and France, Spain, Sweden and Denmark from Europe) have now qualified for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 and will join the two host nations – Australia and New Zealand.

Please click here for the full FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 match schedule.