Wednesday 04 December 2019, 05:11

Copa America draw reveals path to glory

  • Draw for 2020 Copa America conducted

  • Tournament co-hosted by Argentina and Colombia

  • 2022 World Cup hosts Qatar and Australia invited nations for 12-team event

The draw for the 12-nation 2020 edition of the CONMEBOL Copa America took place on Tuesday in Colombia.

Co-host Argentina will open the tournament on 12 June with a match-up against Chile in Buenos Aires as the pair reprise their recent rivalry.

Also in Group A are Bolivia, Uruguay, Paraguay and invitee Australia.

Group B will be hosted by Colombia and is headlined by holders Brazil, alongside Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru and second invited participants Qatar.

Eight teams will qualify for the quarter-finals with the final to place on 12 July in Barranquilla, Colombia.

Australia and Qatar are currently involved in AFC Round 2 qualifying for the 2022 FIFA World Cup™, with Qatar taking part due to the tournament doubling as 2023 AFC Asian Cup qualifying.

The 2019 Asian Cup champions competed in last year’s Copa America earning a draw against Paraguay in a competitive campaign. 2015 Asian Cup champions Australia are featuring for the first time.