Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Tuesday 15 October 2019, 16:59

Qatar’s Khalifa International Stadium preparing to host 24th Arabian Gulf Cup

  • Khalifa International Stadium will host the 24th Arabian Gulf Cup

  • Venue also slated to host FIFA Club World Cup matches in December

  • First tournament-ready stadium for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Before it plays a key role at the FIFA Club World Cup Qatar 2019™ this December and the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™, Khalifa International Stadium is gearing up to host the 24th Arabian Gulf Cup, which will kick off on 27 November.

The tournament, organised by the Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation (AGCFF), will be contested by five teams, with all the matches taking place at Khalifa International Stadium. The draw for the tournament will take place in Doha on 23 October.

"We are proud to be hosting the Arabian Gulf Cup in Qatar for the fourth time and look forward to hosting thousands of fans from across the region," said Jassim Al Rumaihi, general secretary of the AGCFF, in a statement. "We welcome everyone to enjoy this festival of football."

Preparations in full swing for 24th Arabian Gulf Cup

"Qatar's hosting of the Arabian Gulf Cup is another opportunity to test the country's event hosting expertise as we continue preparations for the FIFA Club World Cup in December and the FIFA World Cup in 2022," said Saud Al Mohannadi, vice president of the Qatar Football Association and chairman of the Arabian Gulf Cup local organising committee.

Following an extensive redevelopment, the 40,000-capacity Khalifa International Stadium – Qatar's national football stadium – reopened in May 2017. Located in Aspire Zone, this historic venue has previously hosted the Arabian Gulf Cup, the Asian Games and the AFC Asian Cup. The stadium is equipped with state-of-the-art cooling technology, which allows it to be used all-year-round.

The Arabian Gulf Cup was conceptualised during the 1968 Olympics, with the first edition taking place in 1970. Kuwait became the first country to win the title after defeating Bahrain. Qatar has hosted the tournament on three previous occasions: 1976, 1992 and 2004 and won the tournament on three occasions: 1992, 2004 and 2014.