Sunday 15 July 2018, 11:20

Kane crowned King, Mina the PPG VIP

  • Kane held off Griezmann’s late charge to become the champion player

  • Mina averaged almost four points per game more than anyone else

  • Coutinho, Quintero and Ronaldo made the points-per-game XI

The distinctions keep coming for Harry Kane. As well as winning the adidas Golden Boot, the England No9 has been crowned the McDonald’s FIFA World Cup™ champion player after withstanding a fast-finishing Frenchman. Antoine Griezmann outscored Kane 20-6 over the last three rounds, but fell two points shy of matching him.

Raphael Varane edged Yerry Mina and Andreas Granqvist to finish as the highest-scoring defender, while Thibaut Courtois was the top goalkeeper and Philippe Coutinho and Luka Modric were the joint-best midfielders.

Mina, meanwhile, averaged an extraordinary 10.7 points per game – almost four points more than his nearest rival, Kasper Schmeichel.

Fantasy Teams of the Tournament

Overall XI: Thibaut Courtois; Andreas Granqvist, Yerry Mina, Thiago Silva, Raphael Varane; Denis Cheryshev, Philippe Coutinho, Luka Modric; Antoine Griezmann, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane.

Points-per-game XI: Kasper Schmeichel; Jose Gimenez, Andreas Granqvist, Yerry Mina, Thiago Silva; Denis Cheryshev, Philippe Coutinho, Juan Quintero; Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane, Wahbi Khazri.

1stHarry Kane406.711.0m
2ndAntoine Griezmann385.410.0m
3rdRaphael Varane344.96.0m
4thYerry Mina3210.75.5m
4thAndreas Granqvist326.45.0m
6thEden Hazard315.210.0m
6thThibaut Courtois314.36.0m
8thRomelu Lukaku305.010.0m
9thKylian Mbappe294.19.0m
9thIvan Perisic294.18.5m
11thPhilippe Coutinho285.69.0m
11thLuka Modric284.09.0m
13thKasper Schmeichel276.85.0m
13thDenis Cheryshev275.45.5m
13thArtem Dzyuba275.48.0m
13thThiago Silva275.46.0m
13thBenjamin Pavard274.54.5m
13thKieran Trippier274.55.5m
13thSamuel Umtiti274.56.0m
13thLucas Hernandez273.95.0m
21stLudwig Augustinsson265.25.0m
21stThomas Meunier265.26.0m
21stJohn Stones263.75.5m
24thMario Mandzukic254.29.0m
24thDomagoj Vida254.25.5m
26thCristiano Ronaldo246.012.0m
26thFernando Muslera244.85.5m
26thKevin De Bruyne244.010.0m
26thHugo Lloris244.06.0m
30thRobin Olsen234.65.0m

Overall: Points Per Game

Yerry Mina (10.7) Kasper Schmeichel (6.8) Harry Kane (6.7) Wahbi Khazri (6.7) Andreas Granqvist (6.4) Cristiano Ronaldo (6.0) Ali Beiranvand (5.7) Philippe Coutinho (5.6) Denis Cheryshev (5.4) Artem Dzyuba (5.4) Antoine Griezmann (5.4) Thiago Silva (5.4) Jose Gimenez (5.3) Ludwig Augustinsson (5.2) Eden Hazard (5.2) Thomas Meunier (5.2) Romelu Lukaku (5.0) Edinson Cavani (5.0) Diego Costa (5.0) Juan Quintero (5.0) Mile Jedinak (5.0) * Minimum three appearances

Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates scoring

Top 5 in Profile

Harry Kane England 40 points 6.7 points per game Appearances: 6 Goals: 6 Assists: 0 Penalties won: 2 Highest-scoring performance: 16 points v Panama

Harry Kane of England celebrates victory 

Antoine Griezmann France 38 points 5.4 points per game Appearances: 7 Goals: 4 Assists: 2 Penalties won: 1 Highest-scoring performance: 9 points v Uruguay

France v Croatia - 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Final - Antoine Griezmann of France kisses the World Cup trophy

Raphael Varane France 34 points 4.9 points per game Appearances: 7 Goals: 1 Assists: 0 Highest-scoring performance: 12 points v Uruguay

Raphael Varane of France celebrates after scoring

Yerry Mina Colombia 32 points 10.7 points per game Appearances: 3 Goals: 3 Assists: 0 Clean sheets: 2 Highest-scoring performance: 12 points v Poland & v Senegal

Yerry Mina of Colombia celebrates

Andreas Granqvist Sweden 32 points 6.4 points per game Appearances: 5 Goals: 2 Assists: 0 Clean sheets: 3 Highest-scoring performance: 12 points v Korea Republic & v Mexico

Andreas Granqvist of Sweden celebrates

As mentioned in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Regulations, there is no official FIFA award for the best team of the 2018 FIFA World Cup. The only official FIFA awards are the ones listed here.