Monday 14 May 2018, 11:08

Croatia, Denmark, and Nigeria name provisional squads

  • Croatia coach Zlatko Dalic names 32-man squad

  • Denmark and Nigeria also announce preliminary squads

  • Final 23-man squad lists will be published by FIFA on 4 June

Croatia coach Zlatko Dalic has announced a provisional 32-man squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™.

This extended list, which will be whittled down to 23 by the 4 June deadline, features no significant surprises or unexpected omissions.

Dalic, who guided Croatia through the European play-offs, will again be pinning his hopes on star players such as Luka Modric, Ivan Rakitic, Mario Mandzukic and Ivan Perisic.

All squads are provisional until the final list of 23 players is announced by FIFA, following their submission by participating teams, on 4 June.

Aage Hareide, Manager of Denmark and Christian Eriksen of Denmark

Denmark coach Age Hareide has named a preliminary squad of 35 players for Russia 2018. It includes many of the players that led the Scandinavian nation in qualifying.

Included in Hareide’s list is Leicester City goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel, Tottenham Hotspur playmaker Christian Eriksen, and Feyenoord striker Nicolai Jorgensen. Borussia Monchengladbach defender Jannik Vestergaard has also been named, despite recovering from a broken metatarsal in his foot.

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has selected a 30-man provisional squad for the world finals, including a couple of uncapped players.

Forwards Junior Lokosa and Simeon Nwankwo are in consideration for the Super Eagles, despite not having made an appearance for the West Africans.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa), Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United);

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey), Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, the Netherlands), Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England), Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes, France), William Ekong (Bursaspor, Turkey), Leon Balogun (Mainz, Germany), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa, Turkey), Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria);

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China PR), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel), Uche Agbo (Standard Liege), Joel Obi (Torino, Italy), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor, Turkey);

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Moses Simon (Gent, Belgium), Victor Moses (Chelsea, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China PR), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England), Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars); Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy).