Thursday 08 June 2017, 06:57

New Zealand name roster for Russia

  • New Zealand announce squad for Confederations Cup

  • Regular skipper Winston Reid the only major absentee

  • Squad includes five veterans from New Zealand’s 2010 World Cup appearance

New Zealand have named a strong squad for this month’s FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia, with captain Winston Reid the only major absentee.

*Squad lists for the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017 only become official once announced by FIFA. *

New Zealand will be captained by in-form striker Chris Wood in the absence of the injured Reid.

There are several survivors from New Zealand’s 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ appearance including Wood, Michael McGlinchey, Tommy Smith, Glen Moss and Shane Smeltz.

“It is great that we have a fully fit squad and we have been able to prepare well over the past 10 days or so together on tour,” said New Zealand coach Anthony Hudson. “Our total focus is on Belarus (international friendly on 12 June) and being at our best for our opening game against Russia.”

New Zealand were the biggest movers on the most recent FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking, moving to 95.

The All Whites open their tournament against hosts Russia on 17 June in Saint Petersburg, before tackling Mexico in Sochi on 21 June, and finally European champions Portugal on 24 June back in Saint Petersburg.

“We are focused on the task at hand, we are not going to get carried away with who we are playing,” Hudson added. “We know they are top teams but we are a strong team and we are going there focused on ourselves and the task at hand.

“Our preparation has been good, we know what we are trying to achieve and we are all excited about this tournament.”

New Zealand have never won a match in three previous Confederations Cup appearances.

New Zealand squad Goalkeepers: Stefan Marinovic (SpVgg Unterhaching/Germany), Tamati Williams (RKC Waalwijk/Netherlands), Glen Moss (Newcastle Jets/Australia)

Defenders: Andrew Durante (Wellington Phoenix), Thomas Doyle (Wellington Phoenix), Storm Roux (Central Coast Mariners/Australia), Michael Boxall (SuperSport United/South Africa), Kip Colvey (San Jose Earthquakes/USA), Themi Tzimopoulos (PAS Giannina/Greece), Deklan Wynne (Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada), Sam Brotherton (Sunderland/England), Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town/England), Dane Ingham (Brisbane Roar/Australia)

Midfielders: Bill Tuiloma (Marseille/France), Clayton Lewis (Auckland City), Michael McGlinchey (Wellington Phoenix), Ryan Thomas (PEC Zwolle/Netherlands), Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory/Australia), Alex Rufer (Wellington Phoenix)

Forwards: Chris Wood (Leeds United/England), Monty Patterson (Ipswich Town/England), Shane Smeltz (Borneo FC/Indonesia), Kosta Barbarouses (Wellington Phoenix)