Monday 11 March 2019, 18:03

Zidane returns as coach of Real Madrid

  • Real Madrid released statement revealing Zidane as new coach

  • Santiago Solari's contract has been terminated

  • The Frenchman signed a contract until 30 June 2022

Just nine months after departing as Real Madrid head coach, Zinedine Zidane has returned. The FIFA Club World Cup holders released the news through a press release on their official website on Monday 11 March.

The release began with the news that Santiago Solari has been dismissed from his role as first-team head coach. Solari took charge as official first-team coach in November 2018 after first serving as an interim coach.

The club thanked Solari for his "commitment and loyalty" before confirming the news that had been widely reported and expected: "The board of directors also agreed on the appointment of Zinedine Zidane as head coach of Real Madrid with immediate effect for the remainder of the season and the next three campaigns, until 30 June 2022."

Shortly after his reappointment was announced, Zidane addressed the media during a press conference from the Santiago Bernabeu.

"I know this is a special day for everyone," Zidane said. "I'm very happy to return here and that's the most important thing. I will be starting work tomorrow to put this club back where it deserves to be.

"It's a massive responsibility. I'm just one more member of the team, this club. I love football and I haven't forgotten what we have won, but I also haven't forgotten all the things that we did badly. I know where I am."

Real Madrid were recently eliminated in the Round of 16 of the UEFA Champions League, ending the Spanish club's incredible run of three consecutive Champions League titles won under Zidane himself.

"I'll do everything I can to make the team better," said Zidane. "Things are going to change – they need to. But that's not a priority right now. We have 11 games left, and the idea is to finish the season well."

Zidane's list of honours with Real Madrid

  • FIFA Club World Cup winners: 2016, 2017

  • UEFA Champions League winners: 2015/16, 2016/17, 2017/18

  • UEFA Super Cup: 2016, 2017

  • Supercopa de Espana: 2017

  • La Liga: 2016/17