Thursday 10 May 2018, 09:09

The Best: the holders

  • ​Cristiano Ronaldo & Zinedine Zidane took home the top men's honours

  • Lieke Martens & Sarina Wiegman were the queens of the women's game

  • Olivier Giroud's 'scorpion kick' saw him win the FIFA Puskàs Award

With the countdown well and truly on to see who will take home the trophies on Monday 24 September at the 2018 edition of The Best FIFA Football Awards™, it is to be expected that fans across the world are eagerly casting their eyes towards the future. But who will be relinquishing their title as The Best in each category this year? is here to guide you through the winners of the 2017 awards.

The Best FIFA Men's Player 2017: Cristiano Ronaldo

"It’s a wonderful accolade. I really want to thank my team-mates. It’s a landmark moment in my career; a moment involving intense emotions."

The Real Madrid and Portugal star retained his crown having taken home The Best FIFA Men's Player award at the inaugural 2016 awards. During the 2016/17 campaign, Ronaldo won La Liga, the UEFA Champions League and FIFA Club World Cup at club level, also reaching the semi-finals of the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup with his national team.

The Best FIFA Women's Player 2017: Lieke Martens

An outstanding campaign, in which the Dutch winger triumphed on home soil as Player of the Tournament at the UEFA Women's EURO 2017, saw the Barcelona star claim The Best crown from 2016 victor Carli Lloyd.

The Best FIFA Men's Coach 2017: Zinedine Zidane

After making the shortlist in the 2016 edition, the Frenchman went one better and claimed The Best crown after his Real Madrid side retained their UEFA Champions League title during the 2016/17 campaign. A La Liga title and victory in the FIFA Club World Cup meant it was a remarkably successful first full season in charge of Los Blancos for 'Zizou'.

The Best FIFA Women's Coach 2017: Sarina Wiegman

Much like the The Best FIFA Men's Coach and Men's Player were intertwined at club level, so The Best Women's Player and Women's Coach were at national level. Wiegman oversaw the Netherlands's successful UEFA Women's EURO 2017 campaign, storming to victory as hosts.

The best Fifa women's coach is won by Sarina Wiegman of The Netherlands and The Dutch National Team
The Best FIFA Goalkeeper 2017: Gianluigi Buffon

"Our position is fundamental on the pitch. We can be decisive in a win or in a defeat. All in all we are as important as a striker that scores goals."

One of the greatest goalkeepers of all time summed up why an award was required to celebrate the game's best custodians. It was fitting then that Buffon, who himself went 600 minutes without conceding in the 2016/17 Champions League, was the first person to take home The Best FIFA Goalkeeper award.

Gianluigi Buffon of Italy poses during The Best FIFA Football Awards
The FIFA Puskàs Award 2017: Olivier Giroud

The then Arsenal man scored a quite superb 'scorpion kick' against Crystal Palace on 1 January 2017 to succeed Mohd Faiz Subri as scorer of the year's best goal - as voted for by users of

The FIFA Fan Award 2017: Celtic supporters

Football fans from around the world voted the Hoops' wonderful 360-degree card display around Celtic Park - to honour the Lisbon Lions on the 50th anniversary of the 1967 European cup win - worthy of claiming the second FIFA Fan Award.

The FIFA Fair Play Award 2017: Francis Kone

The Togolese forward administered life-saving first aid on a football pitch for what he said was the fourth time. After opposing goalkeeper Martin Berkovec was knocked unconscious after a collision with a team-mate during a Czech First League match, Kone rushed to his aid.

The FIFA FIFPro World11 2017:

Gianluigi Buffon Dani Alves, Leonardo Bonucci, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta, Luka Modric Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Neymar

This star-studded XI was voted for by thousands of professional players from across the globe.

The winners of The FIFA FIFPro World11