Friday 22 September 2017, 07:27

The Best finalists announcement: Five questions answered

  • Final candidates for seven awards to be announced in London

  • Five FIFA Legends will help reveal the finalists

  • The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award will see its inaugural finalists unveiled

An event in London will today unveil the finalists for a host of the The Best FIFA Football Awards™. But what do you need to know about this event, and why? has you covered, with our bitesize guide to the announcement of The Best final candidates.

Which finalists will be announced? We'll find out the final three for the following awards:

  • The Best Men's Player

  • The Best Women's Player

  • The Best Men's Coach

  • The Best Women's Coach * The Best Goalkeeper

  • The FIFA Fan Award

And the much-anticipated ten goal shortlist for the FIFA Puskás Award will also be announced. The Puskás ten will be trimmed down to three in October.

Where is it taking place? The host city of The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony is a fitting place to find out who remains in the running for the top awards, and the event itself will be held at the Bloomsbury Ballroom, in central London. The venue for the announcement is just a 20-minute walk from the historic London Palladium, which will host The Best awards ceremony on 23 October.

When does the event start? All candidates will be announced from 2pm local time (3pm CET), with the press conference being streamed live on The Best FIFA Football Awards Facebook page. You will be able to follow the announcement across FIFA’s other social media platforms too, so make sure you’re following @FIFAcom, tracking the hashtags #TheBest and #Puskas, while our Instagram account will provide exclusive behind-the-scenes footage and pictures via Instagram Stories.

Who will be there? Five FIFA Legends, who boast close to 500 international appearances between them, will be at the Bloomsbury Ballroom to help reveal the final candidates. Roberto Di Matteo, Jay Jay Okocha, Alex Scott, Andriy Shevchenko and Peter Shilton will all play a part and no doubt be intrigued onlookers as the finalists are announced.

Can we vote for any of these awards? Yes! Immediately after the final nominees for the Fan Award and the Puskás Award are announced, you will be able to select your favourite. Voting for the Fan Award will remain open until the day of the event. For the Puskás Award, voting for the first phase will be open until 9 October, at which point ten will become three, and you will have another chance to choose your favourite - this time from the final three. The second phase of Puskás voting will remain open until the ceremony on 23 October.

Related Documents