Tuesday 30 November 2021, 08:00

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: nominees in focus

  • Five candidates are on the final shortlist – but who will become The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper?

  • Christiane Endler receives her third nomination

  • The 2019 and 2020 winners are not represented

Who do you think has been this year‘s standout goalkeeper in the women’s game? Have your say by voting for the candidate you believe most deserves to collect this prestigious award on 17 January 2022.

To help you decide, let‘s take a closer look at the contenders in the race to become The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper.

Ann-Katrin Berger

"She has great presence and charisma. She brings individual quality, personality and mental strength. It means you have someone in goal who knows exactly what she wants to do and how to do it," said Germany coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg of the Chelsea goalkeeper. Berger played an important role in helping the English top-flight side to reach the final of the UEFA Women’s Champions League and win the FA Women’s Super League.

Did you know? On 1 December 2020, Berger’s childhood dream came true as she made her international debut in a UEFA Women’s EURO qualifier against the Republic of Ireland. Despite being diagnosed with thyroid cancer in 2017, she returned to action in January 2018 after a successful operation.

Christiane Endler

They say that all good things come in threes, and this is certainly true for Christiane Endler. The Chile No.1 received her third nomination for The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper to cap an exceptional year. Endler was named Goalkeeper of the Year in France’s Division 1 Feminine, won the league with Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) and helped her team reach the semi-finals of the Women’s Champions League. As if that was not enough, she conceded just four goals as PSG marched to their first championship title.

Did you know? Endler played for Chile at this year’s Women’s Olympic Football Tournament in Tokyo, where the South American side once again proved that they have become an established force in women’s international football. After losing narrowly to top teams Team GB and Canada, they suffered a particularly frustrating 1-0 defeat at the hands of hosts and former world champions Japan.

Stephanie Labbé

Having won bronze in the previous two editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament – with Stephanie Labbé in goal in Rio in 2016 – the Big Red’s big moment finally came in 2021. Labbé’s saves in the quarter-final penalty shoot-out against Brazil and again versus Sweden in the final helped Canada to clinch Olympic gold and celebrate the country’s biggest-ever footballing success. She was also a runner-up in the Damallsvenskan with Swedish side Rosengard.

Did you know? As a child, Labbé played ice hockey for Spruce Grove Minor Hockey but gave up the sport at the age of 11.

Hedvig Lindahl

Hedvig Lindahl is an integral part of Sweden‘s national team, helping them to win silver at this year’s Olympic Games. She won the Spanish Super Cup in her first season with Atletico Madrid, proving the deciding factor in her side’s semi-final penalty shoot-out against Barcelona and keeping a clean sheet in the final against Levante.

Did you know? Lindahl has represented Sweden at the UEFA Women’s EUROs, FIFA Women’s World Cup™ and the Olympics, making ten appearances as starting goalkeeper and three more as a substitute. This makes her one of the most experienced Swedish players of all time at international tournaments.

Alyssa Naeher

Alyssa Naeher is the only USA player to receive a nomination at this year’s The Best FIFA Football Awards. The Bridgeport-born shotstopper, who has been the Stars & Stripes‘ first-choice goalkeeper since 2016, helped her team to a bronze medal at the Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Did you know? In 2008, she was called up to the USA squad for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup™ in Chile, where she won the adidas Golden Glove as the tournament’s best goalkeeper. Chile 2008 marked the USA’s second triumph in the competition after winning the inaugural edition in Canada in 2002.