Monday 03 September 2018, 12:45

The Best contenders unveiled in London

  • Finalists for seven awards revealed during live London show

  • 2017 winners Cristiano Ronaldo, Zidane, Wiegman in running

  • Voting now open for Puskás Award and Fan Award

The world discovered who is in with a chance of walking away from The Best FIFA Football Awards on 24 September with a trophy under their arm after the final lists of hopefuls were unveiled at an event in London.

Reigning The Best FIFA Men’s Player Cristiano Ronaldo is back in the running, while there are two first-time nominees in FIFA World Cup™ finalist and adidas Golden Ball winner Luka Modric, and Liverpool’s electric Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player award is certain to change hands. Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Maroszan, who enjoyed an unbeaten Division 1 Feminine season and lifted the UEFA Women’s Champions League, are joined by Brazil’s triumphant Copa America Feminina captain Marta in contending for the honour.

When it comes to those in the dugout, both The Best FIFA Men’s Coach and The Best FIFA Women’s Coach could well be reclaimed, with former Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane and the Netherlands’s tactician Sarina Wiegman both in contention.

The two managers walking the touchline in the Russia 2018 Final are also in line, with France’s Didier Deschamps and Zlatko Dalic of Croatia completing the men’s trio. Lyon’s Reynald Pedros and Japan’s Asako Takakura, the latter having guided her side to the AFC Women’s Asian Cup, join Wiegman in vying for the women’s award.

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award will be contested between a trio who shone in Russia, namely Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois, France’s Hugo Lloris and Denmark’s Kasper Schmeichel. Meanwhile, the shortlists for the FIFA Puskás Award and FIFA Fan Award were revealed, with voting now open for supporters to help decide the winners.

All seven awards, as well as the FIFA Fair Play Award and FIFA/FIFPro World 11, will be handed out on 24 September in front of football’s biggest names amongst the impressive surroundings of London’s Royal Festival Hall.

Keep track of all the build-up to the night across the FIFA Football Awards Facebook page, Twitter and Instagram, while you’ll be able to find exclusive interviews, the latest news, in-depth analysis and features on

The Best announcement in full

Men’s Player Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus, formerly Real Madrid) Luka Modric (CRO/Real Madrid) Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool)

Women’s Player Ada Hegerberg (NOR/Olympique Lyon Feminin) Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER/Olympique Lyon Feminin) Marta (BRA/Orlando Pride)

Men’s Coach Zlatko Dalic (CRO/Croatia national team) Didier Deschamps (FRA/France national team) Zinedine Zidane (FRA/formerly Real Madrid)

Women’s Coach Reynald Pedros (FRA/Olympique Lyon Feminin) Asako Takakura (JPN/Japan women’s national team) Sarina Wiegman (NED/Netherlands women’s national team)

Goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois (BEL/Real Madrid, formerly Chelsea) Hugo Lloris (FRA/Tottenham Hotspur) Kasper Schmeichel (DEN/Leicester City)

Puskás Award Gareth Bale (Real Madrid) Denis Cheryshev (Russia) Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK Athens) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Giorgian de Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro) Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets) Lionel Messi (Argentina) Benjamin Pavard (France) Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Fan Award Sebastián Carrera (CD Puerto Montt) Japan and Senegal supporters Peru supporters