Friday 27 July 2018, 14:00

Roads to the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final 2018

After over 20 million players took part in the Global Series, we take a look back at the different qualifying routes to the FIFA eWorld Cup™ Grand Final 2018.

Global Series Qualifiers:

FUT Champions Cup Barcelona The first FUT Champions Cup was held in the Spanish city of Barcelona. 'Gorilla' and 'nicolas99fc' were among those to rubberstamp their playoff tickets here.

FUT Champions Cup Manchester The second FUT Champions Cup took place in Manchester in April. The eventual winner, 'MSDossary', later went on to qualify for the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final at the playoffs in Amsterdam.

FIFA eClub World Cup Paris Sixteen clubs, each with two representatives, did battle for the title of FIFA eClub World Cup champion in Paris. Despite a dramatic defeat in the final, 'Aero' - among a few others - still qualified for the playoffs, and later, also for the Grand Final.

Last Chance Qualifier The Last Chance Qualifier was exactly that: one final opportunity to reach the playoffs via an online Weekend League. 'M4RV' and 'Rafsou' were among the players to make the most of it.

League Partners The Global Series' League Partners provided another qualifying route. Dutch eDivisie champion 'Dani' emerged victorious, sealing his place in the playoffs and later also in the Grand Final.

Licensed Qualifying Competitions Players were also able earn a berth at the playoffs in Amsterdam via licensed qualification events. 'Agge' and 'Boras', among others, took their first steps towards the Grand Final there.

Global Series Playoffs in Amsterdam: At the playoffs in Amsterdam, the best 128 players in the world jostled for one of the 32 berths at the Grand Final.

The competition on each console was spread over three days:

  • ​Day 1: Survival Day

  • Day 2: Qualification Day

  • Day 3: Grand Final Day

On Qualification Day, 32 players booked their ticket to London, while Grand Final Day determined seeding and group placings.

The FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final At the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final in London, the best of these 32 players will battle it out for the title of FIFA eWorld Cup champion, $250,000 USD in prize money and a trip to The Best FIFA Football Awards™.