Sunday 13 March 2016, 16:08

Records galore for PSG

Paris Saint-Germain won their fourth consecutive, and sixth overall, French Ligue 1 title on Sunday, setting a new record by wrapping up the league after just 30 matches. Coming off a high of progressing to the UEFA Champions League quarter-finals after a win at Chelsea, the holders continued their celebrations domestically with a sensational 9-0 victory at Troyes.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic grabbed four, including a ten-minute hat-trick, to steer Laurent Blanc's men to the title - 62 days before the season's end. Even the Troyes supporters were in awe of the champions as they applauded the away side during the match.

It was a day full of records for the Parisians. By winning the Ligue 1 title with eight matches remaining, PSG eclipsed the previous record of five set by Lyon in the 2006/07 season. By winning the 2015/16 Ligue 1 title on 13 March, PSG broke the previous league record by more than a month as the earliest championship secured before today was 15 April. The victory also surpasses Bayern Munich's record from the 'big five' leagues (England, France, Germany, Italy and Spain) by 12 days, after Pep Guardiola's men sealed their 2013/14 title win on 25 March.

Their 9-0 win at Troyes is also the biggest away victory in Ligue 1 history. With Ibrahimovic's four goals on the day, he has now scored an astonishing 102 league goals in 115 matches. He becomes the fastest player to score 100 goals in Ligue 1 since Carlos Bianchi did it in 110 games.

Records were also being matched on the bench as head coach Laurent Blanc won a third successive league title, tying Albert Batteux, Robert Herbin and Paul Le Guen.

However, the feat goes beyond France. Most impressively, PSG set the all-time record of winning a league with eight matches remaining in the top flights of Spain, England, Germany, Italy and France. Only one team had won their respective league title with more than five matches remaining, which was Bayern Munich with seven games left in 2013/14 (albeit in an 18-team league), but no team has secured the title with eight matches still to play.