Wednesday 31 July 2019, 13:55

Race to be The Best begins

  • Shortlists for The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Player and Coach awards revealed

  • 42 names nominated for the top individual awards in football

  • You can cast your vote now

The long-awaited shortlists for four of The Best FIFA Football Awards – the top individual awards in world football - have been revealed. The 42 names for The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Player and Coach awards are spread across five continents, with the global game truly represented across the nominees. The shortlists were selected by two panels of experts – one for men’s football and one for women’s football.

Voting is now open for these four awards, and the decision will be split between four key pillars of the beautiful game: the players, the coaches, the fans and the media. The four groups of voters – namely: national team captains, national team coaches, selected media and the fan vote conducted on – are weighted evenly (25% each) when determining the final result.

Two-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo will be hoping to reclaim his crown from last year’s The Best FIFA Men’s Player Luka Modric, while The Best FIFA Women’s Player trophy will have a totally new name on the honour’s board on 23 September. The FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™ has had an undoubted impact among the nominees for The Best FIFA Women’s Player, with 11 of the 12 candidates performing on the global stage in France.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player nominees

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus Frenkie de Jong (NED) – Ajax / FC Barcelona Matthijs de Ligt (NED) – Ajax / Juventus Eden Hazard (BEL) – Chelsea / Real Madrid Harry Kane (ENG) – Tottenham Hotspur Sadio Mane (SEN) – Liverpool Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – Paris Saint-Germain Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona Mohamed Salah (EGY) – Liverpool Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool

The Best FIFA Women’s Player nominees

Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais Julie Ertz (USA) – Chicago Red Stars Caroline Graham Hansen (NOR) – Wolfsburg / FC Barcelona Ada Hegerberg (NOR) – Olympique Lyonnais Amandine Henry (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais Sam Kerr (AUS) – Chicago Red Stars / Perth Glory Rose Lavelle (USA) – Washington Spirit Vivianne Miedema (NED) – Arsenal Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC Wendie Renard (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais Ellen White (ENG) – Birmingham City / Manchester City

Didier Deschamps and Reynald Pedros are in the running to retain their title as the top coaches in world football, but they will be pushed hard by continental kings and the standout performers at this year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach nominees

Djamel Belmadi (ALG) – Algeria national team Didier Deschamps (FRA) – France national team Marcelo Gallardo (ARG) – River Plate Ricardo Gareca (ARG) – Peru national team Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City Jurgen Klopp (GER) - Liverpool Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur Fernando Santos (POR) – Portugal national team Erik ten Hag (NED) – Ajax Tite (BRA) – Brazil national team

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach nominees

Milena Bertolini (ITA) – Italy national team Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team Peter Gerhardsson (SWE) – Sweden national team Futoshi Ikeda (JPN) – Japan U-20 national team Antonia Is (ESP) – Spain U-17 national team Joe Montemurro (AUS) – Arsenal Phil Neville (ENG) – England national team Reynald Pedros (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais Paul Riley (ENG) – North Carolina Courage Sarina Wiegman (NED) – Netherlands national team

Voting is now open until midnight CET on 19 August 2019. What are you waiting for? Pick your favourites now!

Related Documents