Monday 03 September 2018, 12:40

Finalists for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018 announced

The finalists for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018, world football’s premium awards event, have been announced, with Cristiano Ronaldo, Marta, Asako Takakura and Hugo Lloris named amongst the nominees.

The finalists, revealed today at a special media event held in London with FIFA Legends Sol Campbell, Kelly Smith, Nwankwo Kanu and Peter Schmeichel, have been recognised for their achievements in elite football between July 2017 and July 2018 – a period that saw the 2018 FIFA World Cup™ take place in Russia.

In a year that was filled with drama, action and excitement across both the men’s and women’s game, The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 look set to build on the success of 2017’s event and return to London bigger and better than ever.

The winners will be crowned at the Royal Festival Hall (Southbank) on 24 September 2018, where the great and good of world football will descend upon the city to celebrate the very “best” the sport has to offer.

The shortlisted candidates for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 are:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC, formerly Real Madrid CF)

  • Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid CF)

  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

  • Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais)

  • Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/Olympique Lyonnais)

  • Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

  • Zlatko Dalić (Croatia/Croatia national team)

  • Didier Deschamps (France/France national team)

  • Zinédine Zidane (France/formerly Real Madrid CF)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

  • Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

  • Asako Takakura (Japan/Japan national team)

  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Netherlands national team)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper:

  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF, formerly Chelsea FC)

  • Hugo Lloris (France/Tottenham Hotspur FC)

  • Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City FC)

FIFA Puskás Award:

  • Gareth Bale (Real Madrid CF) – v. Liverpool FC

  • Denis Cheryshev (Russia) – v. Croatia

  • Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK FC) – v. Olympiacos FC

  • Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro) – v. América MG

  • Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets FC) – v. Melbourne City FC

  • Lionel Messi (Argentina) – v. Nigeria

  • Benjamin Pavard (France) – v. Argentina

  • Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) – v. IR Iran

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF) – v. Juventus FC

  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC) – v. Everton FC

FIFA Fan Award:

  • Sebastián Carrera (Deportes Puerto Montt, Chile)

  • Peru fans

  • Japan and Senegal fans