Tuesday 19 March 2019, 08:15

FIFA receives record number of expressions of interest in hosting FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™

Following its invitation to all member associations (MAs) to express their interest in submitting a bid to host the final competition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, FIFA has received a total of nine expressions, namely from the following MAs (in alphabetical order by country):

  • Argentinian Football Association

  • Football Federation Australia

  • Bolivian Football Association

  • Brazilian Football Association

  • Colombian Football Association

  • Japan Football Association

  • Korea Football Association (expressing interest in a joint bid with DPR Korea Football Association)

  • New Zealand Football

  • South African Football Association

This is the largest-ever list of MAs to have submitted formal expressions of interest to FIFA with a view to hosting the FIFA Women’s World Cup™, the first edition of which was held in 1991.

All interested MAs have been sent the respective overview and bidding registration documents, and will have until 16 April 2019 to submit their bidding registration to FIFA. The full bidding timeline can be found here.

In line with the principles outlined in the overview document available on on and with the bidding for the FIFA World Cup 2026™, FIFA will implement a fair and transparent process, which will include a clear evaluation model as well as a concrete commitment to sustainability and human rights. All bid books will be published in full on FIFA.com in October 2019.

Based on the FIFA Statutes, the FIFA Council will appoint the host(s) of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023. As communicated in the overview document and confirmed by the FIFA Council at its recent meeting in Miami, the result of each ballot and the related votes by the members of the FIFA Council will be open and made public.

Related Documents