Monday 23 December 2019, 12:35

FIFA eClub World Cup 2020 line-up complete after thrilling conclusion to online qualification phase

  • 190 teams took part in five-week qualification window

  • 24 of the world’s best FIFA eSports club teams to compete for the title on 7 to 9 February 2020

After five weeks of intense excitement, action and drama, the stage has been set for the FIFA eClub World Cup™ 2020 as the 24 qualified teams were confirmed today by FIFA.

With over 190 teams competing across five weeks of fierce online match-ups, famous teams including a host of football clubs from Europe, Asia-Pacific, the Middle East and North and South America battled it out with specialist eSports teams from all around the world to secure a coveted spot at the FIFA eClub World Cup 2020. A new champion will also be crowned next year after the previous title holders, Brondby IF (2 x) and King eSports (1 x), didn’t manage to qualify for this season’s tournament.

The qualified teams for the FIFA eClub World Cup 2020 are:

  • AS Roma

  • Blue United eFC

  • Borussia VfL 1900 Mönchengladbach

  • Complexity Gaming

  • DUX Gaming

  • Ellevens

  • FaZe Clan

  • FC Basel 1893 eSports

  • Fierce Esports

  • FK Austria Wien

  • Fnatic

  • Gillette Infinity Esports

  • Hashtag United

  • Manchester City eSports

  • Mkers

  • Movistar Riders

  • Nasr eSports

  • NEO

  • Nordavind DNB

  • Olympique Lyonnais

  • R288

  • Redemption eSports

  • Team FUTWIZ AU

  • Team QLASH

Following the conclusion this weekend of the equivalent real football tournament in Qatar - which saw Liverpool lift the title - the FIFA eClub World Cup 2020 will see 24 of the world’s best clubs in FIFA eSports battle it out to become the world’s best team in EA SPORTS FIFA 20, a total prize pool of USD 100,000 and the chance to earn important EA SPORTS FIFA 20 Global Series Rankings points that will help players qualify for the FIFA eWorld Cup™ 2020 at the end of the season.

Speaking ahead of the FIFA eClub World Cup 2020, Adrian Rölli from FIFA said:

“With a new record of over 190 teams taking part in the extended online qualification which took place over five weeks, we are looking forward to welcoming the world’s best 24 FIFA eSports teams at the pinnacle event of team-based FIFA eSports. The unique combination of 2v2 and 1v1 match-ups will once again showcase the excitement, drama and passion that FIFA eSports offers to fans and media around the world as well as crowning the first FIFA eClub World Cup champion of the new decade.”

For a full overview of results and groups from the online qualification phase, please click HERE.

The FIFA eClub World Cup is FIFA’s official club team competition as part of the EA SPORTS FIFA 20 Global Series on the Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup 2020. The inaugural event took place in 2017 with Brondby IF securing the first place in London and repeating their success one year later, while King eSports became champion at last season’s event.

Please consider that all teams are currently being vetted and FIFA reserves any additional ruling on a misconduct of the tournament regulations.