Wednesday 06 February 2019, 05:25

FIFA eClub World Cup 2019: Facts and figures 

  • Participation records and reigning champions

  • Former FIFA eWorld Cup™ champion and best players from FIFA 19 Global Series

  • We look at stats and trivia of the teams and players at the tournament

Brondby IF continued to make history at the FIFA eClub World Cup 2018 with their second title, and the Danes will be looking to prove that they are the best team in the world once again this year. The competition though will be fiercer than ever, after over 150 teams took part in qualifying. Here is an overview of some of the more interesting facts and figures surrounding this year’s FIFA eClub World Cup.

Team facts

Two participations each: A total of four teams in this year's edition are taking part in the competition for the second time. Bochum und ECV eSports were involved in 2018, making it two years in a row for them, while AFC Ajax and Manchester City are returning after first playing in 2017.

Over 150 teams took part in online qualifying, but only the top 15 teams made it through to join the reigning FIFA eClub World Cup Champion.

The Final Showdown pair from the 2016 Grand Final are now playing together as a team, with Sean Allen and Mohamad Al-Bacha putting their differences aside to join forces for NoFuchsGiven eSports.

No team other than Brondby has previously won the FIFA eClub World Cup. The Danes also hold the record for the most qualifications, with three.

Countries of origin of the teams

Futbolist became the first Turkish club to qualify for the FIFA eClub World Cup.

There will be no fewer than four British teams at the tournament, making them the best represented country. The Netherlands, France, Germany and Denmark have two teams each while there is one team from Turkey, Saudi Arabia, USA and Japan to round out the field.

Tournament facts

After first going there in 2017, the FIFA eClub World Cup is being held in London for the second time.

The final on 10 February will be shown live on Sky Sports Football from 14:30 – 16:00. Full live coverage on 9 February (10:00 – 18:30) and 10 February (09:45 - 16:00) can be found on the FIFA digital channels.

A total of USD 100,000 in prize money will be handed out with 1,500 FIFA 19 Global Series points up for grabs for the two members of the winning team.

There will be three games per team match-up in the group stages – click here for more info.

Player facts

Sixteen and 17 years old – that is the age of the two Tricked Esport players, making it one of the youngest teams ever to take part at a FIFA eClub World Cup.

The leaders for each console in the FIFA 19 Global Series Rankings are in the same team, with 'Tekkz' und 'Nicolas99FC' representing KiNG eSports at the FIFA eClub World Cup 2019.

The 2016 FIFA eWorld Cup Champion – Mohamad Al-Bacha – is playing for NoFuchsGiven eSports.

Frederik Fredberg is the only player to have been part of a winning team. After taking the title last year with 'FIFAUstun', he has joined forces this year with 'Dingo' to play for Brondby IF.