Thursday 14 March 2019, 11:32

FIFA announces participating countries and Host City for inaugural FIFA eNations Cup

  • London to host first-ever FIFA eNations Cupfrom 13 to 14 April 2019

  • Twenty nations from six confederations confirmed to compete in event

  • Innovative 2v2 team format to also feature at FIFA eNations Cup

Today, FIFA confirmed the full line-up of participating countries who will compete at the first-ever FIFA eNations Cup, as well as the Host City for the inaugural event taking place next month.

As one of the major events in the EA SPORTS FIFA 19 Global Series, the FIFA eNations Cup is a new addition by FIFA to this season’s professional eFootball calendar and will feature 20 national teams from all six confederations (Concacaf, CONMEBOL, CAF, OFC, AFC and UEFA).

In addition to international glory and a prize pool of USD 100,000 at stake for the teams, players selected by their member association for the FIFA eNations Cup 2019 will also have the chance to win up to 1,500 EA SPORTS FIFA 19 Global Series points, providing them with an opportunity to move up the FIFA 19 Global Series Rankings and take a significant step forward on the Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup™ 2019.

Following a thorough and extensive evaluation and invitation process conducted by FIFA for the inaugural event, the 20 countries confirmed to participate in the FIFA eNations Cup 2019 are:

  • Argentina

  • Australia

  • Brazil

  • China PR

  • Denmark

  • England (host country)

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Mexico

  • Netherlands

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Portugal

  • Saudi Arabia

  • South Africa

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Russia

  • USA

In addition, London has also been confirmed by FIFA as host and the tournament will be broadcast by the Media Rights Licensees for the event. It will also be streamed live across FIFA’s digital channels on 13 and 14 April 2019.

Christian Volk, Director of eFootball and & Gaming at FIFA, said: “With 20 of the world’s best eFootball nations going head-to-head, this year’s inaugural FIFA eNations Cup will provide another great example of the passion and excitement that eFootball has to offer, as well as providing the chance for players and member associations to compete for national pride and international glory.

“Following unprecedented interest received in the event, the decision to expand the FIFA eNations Cup from 16 to 20 teams will allow more member associations with a chance to compete at on an international stage in eFootball, as well as providing an important stepping stone for FIFA to continue growing and developing eFootball and the FIFA eNations Cup for member associations and the wider eFootball community in the future.”

As part of the format of the first-ever FIFA eNations Cup, participating countries and players will compete in individual (1v1) and team (2v2) matches on both Xbox and PlayStation during the group stage, with the top two nations in each of the four groups progressing through to the knockout stages.

Volk concluded: “Following the successful implementation at the recent FIFA eClub World Cup™ last month, we are hugely excited that the 2v2 team format will return and be part of the first-ever FIFA eNations Cup. The new 2v2 match format is another important innovation for the sport of eFootball this season and will add further drama – as well as another dynamic – to the event during what will be an exciting two-day exhibition of some of the best eFootball in the world.”

The qualification process for national teams competing at the FIFA eNations Cup will be run by member associations.