Wednesday 24 January 2018, 11:50

Draw lays out first ever UEFA Nations League

  • Draw lines up first edition of UEFA Nations League

  • FIFA World Cup™ holders Germany in group with France, 2010 winners Spain get England

  • Group action will get under way in September 2018

The draw for the first UEFA Nations League has seen the likes of Germany, France and the Netherlands grouped together in its top league.

Belgium, Switzerland and Iceland, Portugal, Italy and Poland, and Spain, England and Croatia make up the other groups in League A. The remaining 43 teams have been split among groups in three further leagues based on UEFA seedings, each comprising of four sections apiece.

With the group stage running between September and November 2018, the new tournament has been introduced to provide a competitive alternative to friendlies in Europe, allowing teams to face similarly-ranked sides, as well as offering relegation and promotion between leagues.

The four League A group winners will contest at the Nations League Finals in June 2019, while the competition will also provide a secondary path to UEFA EURO 2020 for sides who miss out in the traditional ten-group qualifiers. The top two in each EURO 2020 qualifying group will qualify, with the top 16 sides based on Nations League rankings battling for the final four tournament spots through playoffs in March 2020.

UEFA Nations League draw

League A Group 1: Germany France, the Netherlands Group 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland Group 3: Portugal, Italy, Poland Group 4: Spain, England, Croatia

League B Group 1: Slovakia, Ukraine, Czech Republic Group 2: Russia, Sweden, Turkey Group 3: Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland Group 4: Wales, Republic of Ireland, Denmark

League C Group 1: Scotland, Albania, Israel Group 2: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia Group 3: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus Group 4: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania

League D Group 1: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra Group 2: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino Group 3: Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Kosovo Group 4: FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar