Tuesday 10 May 2016, 22:04

Colombia field set as trio book tickets

Panama, Guatemala and Cuba have all won their way to the FIFA Futsal World Cup Colombia 2016 after reaching the semi-finals of the CONCACAF championship on Tuesday.

Host nation Costa Rica achieved passage on Monday with the quartet finalising the 24-nation field for this year’s tournament.

Group A was won by Panama who turned around a 2-0 deficit to to prevail 4-3 over Mexico, and reach their second global Futsal finals after premiering four years ago in Thailand.

Guatemala will feature in a fourth Futsal World Cup after finishing behind Panama in the group with a 6-4 victory over Honduras.

Group B action saw Cuba beat Canada 7-4 to snatch second place for a fifth FIFA Futsal World Cup finals.

The semi-finals will take place on Thursday with the continental final set for Saturday.

The 24 participants The draw for the eighth edition of the FIFA Futsal World Cup will take place on Thursday 19 May in Medellin.

In addition to Costa Rica, Panama, Guatemala and Cuba - and host nation Colombia - the qualified nations are: Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay (CONMEBOL); Spain, Italy, Portugal, Russia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan and Ukraine (UEFA); Morocco, Egypt and Mozambique (CAF); Australia, Thailand, Iran, Vietnam and Uzbekistan (AFC); and Solomon Islands (OFC).

Related Documents