Monday 09 October 2017, 14:13

Castellanos, Giroud and Masuluke are 2017 Puskás finalists

  • Castellanos, Giroud and Masuluke make final three for Puskás Award

  • Giroud first Frenchman, Masuluke first African to reach top trio

  • Venezuelan teen also a nominee for The Best FIFA Women’s Player

The FIFA Puskás Award 2017 finalists have been announced, with the strikes by Deyna Castellanos, Olivier Giroud and Oscarine Masuluke voted by hundreds of thousands of fans across the world as their top three from the initial shortlist of ten.

After the first round of voting concluded earlier on Monday 9 October, a new second phase has now begun. The total from each round of voting will be added together to decide the winner, who will be crowned at the awards ceremony later this month.

Voting will remain openuntil the day of the awards ceremony itself, on Monday 23 October, with the winner of the fan vote receiving their award on stage at the historic London Palladium.

Deyna Castellanos is the second Venezuelan teen in successive years to reach the final three, following in the footsteps of countrywoman Daniuska Rodriguez who was voted into the top trio last year. Castellanos, also a finalist for The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2017, was nominated for her extraordinary effort from the halfway line against Cameroon at the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Jordan 2016.

Vote for Deyna Castellanos

Olivier Giroud is the first Frenchman to reach the final three, becoming the lucky number seven of his compatriots to be nominated. The Arsenal forward was shortlisted for his perfectly-executed, and wonderfully audacious, ‘scorpion kick’ goal against Crystal Palace in the English Premier League.

Vote for Olivier Giroud

Oscarine Masuluke is not only the first of his nation to reach the Puskás Award top three, but the first player from his continent to be named a finalist. Even more remarkably, the South African is also the first goalkeeper to reach the final trio, with his incredible last-minute bicycle kick equaliser for Baroka FC against Orlando Pirates understandably capturing the imagination of fans across the world.

Vote for Oscarine Masuluke

Make sure to check back on 23 October on and on social media - @FIFAcom using #TheBest and #Puskas, on Instagram and the official FIFA Football Awards Facebook page – to see who takes home the Puskás Award.

Related Documents