Sunday 08 January 2017, 09:54

All you need to know about The Best

As the clock ticks down, the excitement is mounting. The world’s best football players and coaches will be recognised on Monday 9 January 2017 at the inaugural edition of The Best FIFA Football Awards™. Zurich’s TPC studios will host the awards themselves, with the winners of each accolade decided by the global football community.

As all of the stars begin to descend upon Zurich, we want to make sure you get all you need to know about the awards ahead of Monday’s ceremony.

Which awards will be handed out?

  • The Best FIFA Men's Player Award (Nominees: Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann and Lionel Messi)

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award (Nominees: Melanie Behringer, Carli Lloyd and Marta)

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach Award (Nominees: Claudio Ranieri, Fernando Santos and Zinedine Zidane)

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award[ (Nominees: Jill Ellis, Silvia Neid and Pia Sundhage)

  • ]()The FIFA Puskás Award 2016 (Nominees: Marlone, Daniuska Rodriguez and Mohd Faiz Subri)

  • The FIFA Fair Play Award

  • The FIFA Fan Award (Nominees: ADO Den Haag supporters, Borussia Dortmund-Liverpool supporters and Iceland supporters)

When and where will the ceremony take place? The ceremony itself, at Zurich's TPC Studios (Technology and Production Center, Switzerland AG, 8052 Zurich) will begin at 18.30 CET, but we will have a live blog on from 14.30 CET, to bring you all the build-up from the Green Carpet ahead of the event. You can follow along with the pre-ceremony Green Carpet and the ceremony itself, via streams on FIFA TV on YouTube, as well as the live blog.

Who voted for these awards? The winners of The Best FIFA Men's and Women's Player, and The Best FIFA Men's and Women's Coach awards, are determined through a combined voting process, in which 50 per cent of the decision is based on the votes of captains (25 per cent) and head coaches (25 per cent) from national teams all around the globe. The remaining 50 per cent is split equally between an online public ballot of football fans (25 per cent) and submissions from a selected group of media representatives (25 per cent) from all around the world. The vote took place between Friday 4 November and Tuesday 22 November 2016.

What steps were taken to protect the integrity of the voting results and ensure compliance with the allocation rules? The voting procedure for each of the awards has been supervised and monitored by the independent observer PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) Switzerland.

How does voting for the FIFA Puskás Award and FIFA Fan Award work? The FIFA Puskás Award and FIFA Fan Award are voted by you, the fans. Public voting is taking place on with each individual member of the public entitled to make one vote for each category. Haven’t voted yet? There’s still time! Voting for The FIFA Fan Award will close at 10.00am CET on 9 January, while voting for the FIFA Puskás Award will close during the ceremony.

How is the FIFA FIFPro World11 selected? The FIFA FIFPro World11 awards are organised by FIFPro. The awards recognise the best players in each position based on their performances during the period from 1 December 2015 to 28 November 2016 inclusive. The winners are selected by over 45,000 professional players from around the world with each vote carrying the same weight.

What trophies will be handed out? The winners of the inaugural The Best FIFA Men's and Women's Player, and The Best FIFA Men's and Women's Coach awards will be given a newly-designed, platinum-coated trophy. The trophy has a shape which resembles the iconic FIFA World Cup™ Trophy, an homage to tradition with a contemporary, dynamic design. The winners of the other awards will also be handed different, platinum-coated, trophies during the ceremony.

How can I join in the discussion around the awards? Use #TheBest to join in the debate around the awards, which you can follow on Twitter @FIFAcom. Make sure to follow us on Instagram and Facebook for exclusive content throughout the day.

Related Documents