Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Tuesday 24 July 2018, 14:00

The Best FIFA Football Awards reveals 2018 nominees

FIFA has today revealed the shortlisted candidates for four of the individual trophies, which will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ ceremony in London on 24 September 2018.

The announcement comes fresh following a spectacular 2018 FIFA World Cup™, where football’s finest showcased their immense passion and unrivalled skill across Russia in the race to be crowned The Best.

The candidates in each of the following four categories have been named:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid CF/Juventus FC); Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City FC); Antoine Griezmann (France/Atlético Madrid); Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea FC); Harry Kane (England/Tottenham Hotspur FC); Kylian Mbappé (France/Paris Saint-Germain FC); Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona); Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid CF); Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC); Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid CF).

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Lucy Bronze (England/Olympique Lyonnais); Pernille Harder (Denmark/VfL Wolfsburg); Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais); Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais); Samantha Kerr (Australia/Sky Blue FC/Perth Glory FC/Chicago Red Stars); Saki Kumagai (Japan/Olympique Lyonnais); Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/ Olympique Lyonnais); Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride); Megan Rapinoe (USA/Seattle Reign FC); Wendie Renard (France/Olympique Lyonnais).

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Massimiliano Allegri (Italy/Juventus FC); Stanislav Cherchesov (Russia/Russian national team); Zlatko Dalić (Croatia/Croatian national team); Didier Deschamps (France/France national team); Pep Guardiola (Spain/Manchester City FC); Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Liverpool FC); Roberto Martínez (Spain/Belgian national team); Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atlético Madrid); Gareth Southgate (England/English national team); Ernesto Valverde (Spain/FC Barcelona); Zinédine Zidane (France/Real Madrid CF).

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes (England/Chelsea Ladies FC); Stephan Lerch (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg); Mark Parsons (England/Portland Thorns FC); Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais); Alen Stajcic (Australia/Australian national team); Asako Takakura (Japan/Japanese national team); Vadão (Brazil/Brazilian national team); Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spanish national team); Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Swiss national team); Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Dutch national team).

FIFA will announce the final lists of the three nominees for each of the four categories listed above in early September.

Returning to London for the second successive year, the awards will honour the sport’s top players and coaching talent from around the world, recognising their extraordinary achievements over the past season.

Two panels of renowned experts, revealed earlier this month, have decided upon the shortlisted candidates based on their performances across the full 2017/18 season.

Voting Now Open

Once again, the fans at the heart of the game will play a key role in deciding the men’s and women’s players and coaches of the year, reflecting FIFA’s commitment to connect the Awards with the broader football world and especially the fans – enabling them to have a voice in the selection of their footballing heroes as award winners.

Winners of the above four categories will be chosen by a process involving stakeholders from across the world of football, including players, coaches, fans and media.

  • The captains of all national teams decide on 25% of the results ​

  • The head coaches of all national teams decide on 25% of the results

  • A public fan ballot on decides on 25% of the results

  • A group of around 200 members of the international media decides on 25% of the results

Public voting opens today on and closes on 10 August 2018.

FIFA will announce the final lists of the three nominees for each of the four categories listed above – as well as for the FIFA Puskás Award, the FIFA Fan Award and the Best FIFA Goalkeeper award – at the start of September.

For more information on the voting process for each of The Best FIFA Football Awards, see the Rules of Allocation. Keep up with the latest news about The Best FIFA Football Awards™, visit, The Best FIFA Football Awards official Facebook page or on FIFATV on YouTube.

Join the discussion about who should win this year’s prizes by using the hashtag #TheBest.