Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Friday 02 December 2016, 13:58

Nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards revealed

Who will be The Best? FIFA has today announced the final contenders for The Best FIFA Football Awards™. The winners will be crowned in Zurich on 9 January 2017.

The three nominees for The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016, in alphabetical order, are: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid),Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid)andLionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona). Meanwhile, Melanie Behringer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich),Carli Lloyd (USA/Houston Dash)andMarta (Brazil/FC Rosengård) are in the running for The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016.

The candidates for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016 and The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016 have also been announced. In alphabetical order, the contenders are: Claudio Ranieri (Italy/Leicester City),Fernando Santos (Portugal/Portuguese national team)andZinedine Zidane (France/Real Madrid) for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016 award, and Jill Ellis (USA/US national team),Silvia Neid (Germany/German national team) and Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Swedish national team)for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016 award.

The winners of The Best FIFA Football Awards 2016 will be determined through a combined voting process, in which 50 per cent of the decision is based on the votes of captains and head coaches from national teams all around the globe. The other 50 per cent is split between an online public ballot of football fans, and submissions from a selected group of media representatives from all around the world.

The voting procedure for each of the awards has been supervised and monitored by the independent observer PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) Switzerland.

In addition, the three nominees for The FIFA Puskás Award 2016 for the “most beautiful goal of the season” have also been announced. The three goals still in the race areMarlone (Brazil/Corinthians),Daniuska Rodriguez (Venezuela/Venezuelan under-17 women's national team)andMohd Faiz Subri (Malaysia/Penang). The public voting on for this category will close on 9 January 2017.

All of the awards, including The FIFA Fair Play Award and The FIFA Fan Award will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony at the Zurich TPC studios (Technology and Production Center Switzerland AG, 8052 Zurich) on 9 January 2017, which will be streamed live on and FIFA on YouTube.

To keep up with the latest news about The Best FIFA Football Awards™ see and

Join the discussion about who should win this year’s prizes by using the hashtag #TheBest.

Related Documents