Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Monday 24 September 2018, 18:54

Luka Modrić and Marta crowned at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018

In a spectacular show that saw the elite of world football descend on London tonight, FIFA crowned the new king and queen of the sport at The Best FIFA Football Awards™.

Luka Modrić and Marta took the top individual honours in the men’s and women’s game, with Modrić named The Best FIFA Men’s Player for the first time after a successful year with Real Madrid CF and Croatia, and Marta claiming The Best FIFA Women’s Player award following her achievements in the women’s game.

Joining them, Didier Deschamps and Reynald Pedros were unveiled as The Best FIFA Men’s Coach and Women’s Coach respectively after leading France and Olympique Lyonnais Féminin to landmark seasons.

During the ceremony, which was hosted by Idris Elba and Anne-Laure Bonnet and also included live music performances from Big Shaq and Noel Gallagher, Thibaut Courtois was named as The Best FIFA Goalkeeper, the first time he has claimed the award, after proving vital between the posts for both his club during the 2017/18 season and for Belgium at this summer’s FIFA World Cup™ in Russia.

A full list of award winners for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 can be found below. For a full breakdown of the voting results, please click here.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Luka Modrić (29.05% of total votes)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Marta (14.73% of total votes)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps (30.52% of total votes)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros (23.15% of total votes)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois

FIFA FIFPro World11

The FIFA FIFPro World11 was also announced, with votes from over 25,000 professional players from 65 countries selecting the very best team the men’s game has to offer.

To view the full FIFA FIFPro World11, please click HERE.

FIFA Puskás Award, FIFA Fan Award and FIFA Fair Play Award

Following a public vote conducted on of fans from around the world, the winners of both the FIFA Puskás Award and the FIFA Fan Award were also announced.

Mohamed Salah claimed the Puskás Award for the best goal of the season. Salah’s goal, scored for Liverpool against Everton on 10 December 2017, was selected as the top goal by fans with 38% of the vote, with Cristiano Ronaldo’s goal against Juventus voted second (22% of total votes) and Giorgian De Arrascaeta’s goal against América MG rounding out the top three (17% of total votes).

Recognising the remarkable actions of fans from across the world, the FIFA Fan Award – also voted for by fans – was won by the fans of Peru, who received 74% of the total votes.

Peruvian fans were selected for their incredible passion, loyalty and excitement while following their national team. Sebastian Carrera (19% of total votes) and Japanese and Senegalese fans (7% of total votes) completed the top three.

In a poignant moment during tonight’s star-studded ceremony, the FIFA Fair Play Award was presented to German striker Lennart Thy, who donated blood and took time away from football to help save the life of a leukaemia patient who matched with his DNA.

For more information on the voting process for each of The Best FIFA Football Awards, see the Rules of Allocation.