Wednesday 17 April 2024, 19:00

Tiago Mendes: “I would have loved to play in this tournament”

  • Atletico qualified for the inaugural 32-team Mundial de Clubes FIFA 25 on Tuesday.

  • They benefited from the elimination of another Spanish side, FC Barcelona

  • The Portuguese international and former Atletico player spoke to

Club Atlético de Madrid were eliminated from the UEFA Champions League quarter-final on Tuesday, but it was not all bad news for the Colchoneros. Diego Simeone's side qualified for the inaugural 32-team edition of the Mundial de Clubes FIFA 25™ (FIFA Club World Cup 2025™) by benefiting from the elimination of the other Spanish side playing on Tuesday, FC Barcelona.

"The good thing about last night was to learn that next year we will be playing in the first Mundial de Clubes FIFA, which is amazing,” former Atletico player Tiago Mendes told The Portugal international played seven seasons under Simeone at Atletico.

Tiago Mendes (L) of Atletico de Madrid celebrates scoring

"As a fan, I love to see the best teams in the world competing in a tournament with a World Cup format," he said.

"Honestly we (Atletico Madrid) usually do well in this type of format with knockout stages.”

The tournament will see the best players in the world competing for their respective club sides, something Tiago believes will deliver a fantastic on-pitch product.

"I would have loved to play in this tournament, it will have the best clubs and players in the world, and I imagine that lots of fans will go to the USA to enjoy this party. It will be a unique experience.”

The new 32-team FIFA Club World Cup, which will take place in the United States during June and July 2025, features clubs from each of the six confederations, competing for the title of world champions.

Given the teams remaining in the UEFA Champions League this season, and the sides who have already booked a place at the FIFA Club World Cup 2025, FC Salzburg of Austria will join the list of European qualifiers if any club other than Arsenal lifts the trophy this year.